Conjur integration with CyberArk Vault

Hi,
I am new to the CyberArk Secret management so please bear with me if this is a stupid question.
Based on what I saw in the documentation I get the basic difference between DAP and Conjur. What I am unable to determine is if there is a way to integrate Conjur with the CyberArk Vault for testing.

What I mean is that I have lab environment in which I have CyberArk Vault that is using demo license. This demo license contains something called DAPService and in support portal I also see option to download Vault Conjur Synchronizer. On the other hand there is also folder called Conjur Enterprise which just contains readme file saying that if I am interested in Conjur Enterprise I should contact CyberArk.

Can someone please answer what is DAPService license used for and if I can use Vault Conjur Synchronizer with open source version of Conjur or if I need to ask CyberArk for some additional installation files to see how DAP integrates with CyberArk Vault?

Mind you I need this just for testing for now to see how this integration works and what benefits it provides.

Thanks

Hi @atavius,
I’m a DAP dev so hopefully someone else can answer the non-technical parts of your question but the normal setup for Vault + DAP is just like you have guessed:

Vault -> Synchronizer -> (over Conjur API) -> DAP/Conjur

I think that for testing purposes synchronizer may work with Conjur OSS as they use 1:1 APIs. The HA infrastructure/support/features/etc do differ between DAP and Conjur OSS but for just testing it shouldn’t (in theory) matter. Sadly, I really can’t really answer anything about licensing questions you posed as that’s outside of my scope of knowledge.

Hello @atavius,

Found this comparison between Conjur OSS and Conjur Enterprise version.
Hope this helps.

Regards,
Shubham

1 Like

@atavius ,